VEMS oil pressure input?

Discuss VEMS and other standalone ECUs

VEMS oil pressure input?

Postby vwnut8392 » Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:37 pm

is there a way to input oil pressure from a sending unit to a VEMS ECU? just curious because i would like to have that in my data logs and displayed on the on screen dash. i have a VDO gauge running off of a factory URS4 sending unit in my car already but its hard to watch it when im hammering the hell out of the car.
"The really good drivers got the bugs on the side windows." Walter Röhrl

1984 4000S quattro-AAN swapped
1983 UR coupe quattro
1995 URS6 avant
1992 GTI VR6
1992 GTI G60 X-flow turbo
1986 16V jetta coupe
1985 golf 4 door-AKA the monster golf
User avatar
vwnut8392
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Aug 12, 2013
Location: PA

Re: VEMS oil pressure input?

Postby audifreakjim » Mon Sep 21, 2015 11:38 pm

I am using one of these for fuel and oil monitoring
http://www.amazon.com/Auto-Meter-2246-P ... B000CIH39Q
User avatar
audifreakjim
 
Posts: 2043
Joined: Mar 3, 2013

Re: VEMS oil pressure input?

Postby vwnut8392 » Wed Sep 23, 2015 12:12 pm

audifreakjim wrote:I am using one of these for fuel and oil monitoring
http://www.amazon.com/Auto-Meter-2246-P ... B000CIH39Q


128.00 for a sending unit?!?! holy crap! i was hoping to just tie into my current OEM VDO sender and just run that signal into the VEMS if possible.
"The really good drivers got the bugs on the side windows." Walter Röhrl

1984 4000S quattro-AAN swapped
1983 UR coupe quattro
1995 URS6 avant
1992 GTI VR6
1992 GTI G60 X-flow turbo
1986 16V jetta coupe
1985 golf 4 door-AKA the monster golf
User avatar
vwnut8392
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Aug 12, 2013
Location: PA

Re: VEMS oil pressure input?

Postby mushasho » Wed Sep 23, 2015 1:36 pm

vwnut8392 wrote:
audifreakjim wrote:I am using one of these for fuel and oil monitoring
http://www.amazon.com/Auto-Meter-2246-P ... B000CIH39Q


128.00 for a sending unit?!?! holy crap! i was hoping to just tie into my current OEM VDO sender and just run that signal into the VEMS if possible.


Stay tuned I'll be doing just that... I'll be logging both oil and fuel pressure in my next iteration of Rubi... I'll post up the details in my thread
Image
User avatar
mushasho
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: Feb 27, 2013
Location: North of Boston, MA

Re: VEMS oil pressure input?

Postby vwnut8392 » Wed Sep 23, 2015 1:46 pm

mushasho wrote:
vwnut8392 wrote:
audifreakjim wrote:I am using one of these for fuel and oil monitoring
http://www.amazon.com/Auto-Meter-2246-P ... B000CIH39Q


128.00 for a sending unit?!?! holy crap! i was hoping to just tie into my current OEM VDO sender and just run that signal into the VEMS if possible.


Stay tuned I'll be doing just that... I'll be logging both oil and fuel pressure in my next iteration of Rubi... I'll post up the details in my thread

Good stuff! Ill keep an eye out plus ill work on fingering it out when I have time to mess with that car.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I527 using Tapatalk
"The really good drivers got the bugs on the side windows." Walter Röhrl

1984 4000S quattro-AAN swapped
1983 UR coupe quattro
1995 URS6 avant
1992 GTI VR6
1992 GTI G60 X-flow turbo
1986 16V jetta coupe
1985 golf 4 door-AKA the monster golf
User avatar
vwnut8392
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Aug 12, 2013
Location: PA

Re: VEMS oil pressure input?

Postby audifreakjim » Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:26 pm

VEMs needs 0-5v. The original senders just vary resistance so you would need to build a circuit to convert that to a 5v signal
User avatar
audifreakjim
 
Posts: 2043
Joined: Mar 3, 2013

Re: VEMS oil pressure input?

Postby mushasho » Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:34 pm

Image
User avatar
mushasho
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: Feb 27, 2013
Location: North of Boston, MA


Return to Standalone Engine Management

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron