Rich's '91 80Q M-TDI

Document and share your build!

Rich's '91 80Q M-TDI

Postby oil_me » Sat Feb 18, 2012 9:08 am

Hello motobrethren
It's time to get my project on the pages. A BN VW TDI long block(AHU) came up for sale in '08. I scarfed it being a "diesel only" guy with the intent of putting it in some kind of undetermined project.

I've been swapping drivetrains in and out of VW's for 35+ years; the bodies get rusted out or crashed and then it's find another good body & repeat. I've had been exclusive to VW's all this time save for 2 Chevy trucks ; a '58 Apache and a '71 plow truck. I received my first beetle; a '62, for my 12th birthday(thanks Mom). It was my field car. I've owned over 30 beetles, 4 squarebacks, a fastback, a '65 kombi, 3 german rabbits, loved my diesel vanagon, with my favorite cars being the 4 Dashers.
I would put 250 to 300k on each and really preferred the VW B1 inline setup.I loved the German/A2s as well. The '85 Jetta diesel was 1 of the best cars VW ever made IMO; retired one @420k, 44 mpg every tank. I was never interested in Audis as they were too $$$ and had way too many accessories, too much $tatu$/comfort/complexity compared to a VW. I took my son to Germany in '98, we visited all the car factories and auto museums we could in 3 weeks. Our favorite was the Audi factory in Ingolstadt. Unbelieveably complex factory; beautiful. We did the tour 2x. Back then a customer could watch their car built and drive it out the door. Anyway like I said being a diesel only guy, I always dreamed of an AWD diesel, built simply.
I assembled a '99.5 Jetta TDI in '08 that needed a motor, and did a lot of mods to it; 149hp/268lb/ft, gets 48 mpg like clockwork. Even with the Shine suspension it's just bland & Honda-like, handles like her a** is too fat, I'm sorry to say.